The Controlled Drugs and Substances Act is Canada’s federal drug control statute. Passed in 1996 by the Chrétien government, it repealed the Narcotic Control Act and Parts III and IV of the Food and Drug Act and establishes eight Schedules of controlled substances and two Classes of precursors.

On March 12, 2012, Bill C-10, the Safe Streets and Communities Act was passed into law. Amphetamines and their isomers, derivatives, and analogues, including MDA and MDMA (Ecstasy), as well as potential “date rape drugs” Rohypnol and GHB were rescheduled from Schedule III to Schedule I. Dealers of Schedule I drugs now face mandatory minimum sentencing of 1 year imprisonment. Also, the rescheduling imposes harsher punishment for possession, production and trafficking in certain substances.

The full text of the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act can be found at the Justice Canada website.